1-06-2022, 21:52
FSB
0
698
Поделиться

Bathybates ferox



Bathybates ferox live in the wild in Lake Tanganyika, Africa. It is a large cichlid that stays in open water, preying on other fish. In the wild, Bathybates ferox lives mostly in open water at depths of 100 meters or more.

Bathybates ferox has a long, narrow body. The body coloration is blue-gray in the upper part and whitish in the lower part. The dorsal and anal fins are blue-gray, and the other fins are yellowish. On the sides of males have rows of rounded dark brown spots. Males are slightly larger than females. The maximum size of fish reaches 39 cm.

Bathybates ferox is a predator. He does not hesitate to attack any smaller fish within reach. It is most active with the onset of dusk.

Bathybates ferox

The aquarium for keeping Bathybates ferox should be very large. Considering the considerable size of the fish and their predatory behavior the length of the tank should be at least 2 meters long. Keep the fish should be a small group of 5-7 fish in an aquarium of 3000 liters. Keeping fish in a group is a prerequisite. Single fish in an aquarium are stressed and susceptible to disease.

 Do not keep Bathybates ferox with other fish, because sooner or later they will certainly be eaten. The composition of the substrate and decorative elements does not matter.

Water parameters: temperature 24-26° C, hardness dH 15-25°, pH 8,0-9,0. Water temperature should never exceed 30 ° C for a long time. Requires good filtration and increased aeration of water, as well as its weekly replacement of 1/5 of fresh water.  Nitrate levels should remain below 50 mg/l. 

Batybates ferox

The menu of fish in nature consists mainly of other smaller fish. Under aquarium conditions, fish fillets, live fish and insect larvae will suffice. Fish do not eat flake food at all. Feed the fish several times a day in small portions.

 

Breeding

In aquarium conditions Bathybates ferox is quite difficult to breed. Spawning occurs at a temperature of about 25° C and pH 8,0.  Also, little is known about fish spawning in the wild. The female incubates the eggs in her mouth for 3-4 weeks and does not feed at all during this time. On average, the female hatches about 25 eggs. She also takes full care of the eggs and fry.

Bathybates ferox

All in all it is an interesting fish, if not because of the color, then because of the character and the diet itself, although rather expensive and rarely found in the trade network.

Found an error or a dead link?

Select the problematic fragment with your mouse and press CTRL+ENTER.
In the window that appears, describe the problem and send to the Administration of the resource.

Comments



Dear visitor
No one has left a comment on this post yet! You can be the first!


Information
Users of Гости are not allowed to comment this publication.

1-06-2022, 21:52
FSB
0
814
Поделиться

БАТИБАТЕС ФЕРОКС (Bathybates ferox)



Батибатес ферокс в природе обитает в озере Танганьика, Африка. Это большая цихлида, которая держится на открытой воде, охотясь на других рыб. В дикой природе Bathybates ferox обитает в основном в открытой воде на глубине 100 метров и более.

Bathybates ferox имеет длинное узкое тело. Окраска тела в верхней части серо-голубая, а в нижней беловатая. Спинной и анальный плавники сине-серые, а остальные плавники желтоватые. По бокам у самцов имеются ряды округлых пятен темно-коричневого цвета. Самцы немного крупнее самок. Максимальный размер рыб достигает 39 см.

Bathybates ferox является хищником. Он без колебаний нападает на любую меньшую рыбу в пределах досягаемости. Основную активность проявляет с наступлением сумерек.

БАТИБАТЕС ФЕРОКС (Bathybates ferox)

Аквариум для содержания Bathybates ferox должен быть очень большим. Учитывая немалый размер рыб и их хищный характер длина аквариума должна составлять как минимум 2 м в длину. Содержать рыб нужно небольшой группой, состоящей из 5-7 особей в аквариуме объемом от 3000 л. Содержание рыб в группе является непременным условием. Одиночная рыба в аквариуме подвергается стрессу и становится восприимчива к болезням.

 Не следует содержать Bathybates ferox совместно с другими рыбами, так как рано или поздно они будут непременно съедены. Состав субстрата и декоративные элементы значения не имеют.

Параметры воды: температура 24-26° С, жесткость dH 15-25°, кислотность pH 8,0-9,0. Температура воды никогда не должна превышать 30° С в течение длительного времени. Необходима качественная фильтрация и усиленная аэрация воды, а также ее еженедельная подмена 1/5 части свежей.  Содержание нитратов должно оставаться ниже 50 мг/л. 

БАТИБАТЕС ФЕРОКС (Bathybates ferox)

Меню рыб в природе состоит в основном из других более мелких рыбешек. В аквариумных условиях достаточно будет рыбного филе, живых рыб и личинок насекомых. Рыбы совершенно не едят хлопьевидные корма. Кормят рыб несколько раз в день небольшими порциями.

 

Размножение

В аквариумных условиях Bathybates ferox разводить довольно сложно. Нерест происходит при температуре около 25° С и кислотности pH 8,0.  Также мало что известно об нересте рыб в природе. Самка инкубирует икру во рту на протяжении 3-4 недель и в это время совершенно не питается. В среднем самка выметывает около 25 икринок. Также она полностью берет на себе заботу об икре и мальках.

БАТИБАТЕС ФЕРОКС (Bathybates ferox)

В целом это интересная рыбка, если не из-за цвета, то из-за характера и самого рациона, хотя довольно дорогая и редко встречаемая в торговой сети.

Обнаружили ошибку или мёртвую ссылку?

Выделите проблемный фрагмент мышкой и нажмите CTRL+ENTER.
В появившемся окне опишите проблему и отправьте Администрации ресурса.

Комментарии



Уважаемый посетитель
Пока никто не оставил комментарий к записи! Вы можете стать первым!


Информация
Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.